How to Limit the Privacy of Past Facebook Posts (2018)

Social Media Slowdown: How to Limit the Privacy of Past Facebook Posts | Ordered and Organized
Last updated: May 29, 2018 at 20:28 pm

 

This post is one in a series I’m writing on how to reduce your social media footprint.  Check out more posts in the series by clicking here.  

I’m sure we’ve all looked at the Facebook page of a stranger–or maybe someone we actually know but just don’t like–at some point.  Some people–an increasing number, actually–have incredibly locked-down profiles.  Others make everything on their profiles public.  And let’s face it:  The latter profiles can be pretty fun to stalk.  I’m not afraid to admit it.  I’m a music lover, and I’ve been known in the past to visit the profiles of the children of various music legends.  (That practice stopped abruptly after I accidentally sent a friend request to the daughter of a music legend who died in a plane crash.  Oops!)

At any rate, even if you’re not famous and don’t know anyone who is, having a public profile could come back to haunt you.  You never know when someone you know will be–God forbid–accused of a crime or the at-fault party in an accident that kills a child or elderly person or beloved community member.  Or you may have a day when your better judgment fails and you do something that goes viral.  Neither of these scenarios is good, but if something similar were to happen, you want your profile to be private.  You definitely don’t want Heavy.com scouring your profile for information and lifting photos, do you?

(Although you should want your profile to be private anyway.  Do you really want people you don’t know seeing what you’re posting about your marriage, your kids, your job, your trips, etc.?  I hope the answer is no.)

Without further ado, here’s how to limit the privacy of your past posts to friends only.  First, log in to your Facebook account, and navigate to this link:  https://www.facebook.com/settings?tab=privacy

Social Media Slowdown: How to Limit the Privacy of Past Facebook Posts | Ordered and Organized

Click on LIMIT PAST POSTS.

Social Media Slowdown: How to Limit the Privacy of Past Facebook Posts | Ordered and Organized

Make sure you read the two paragraphs that pop up, and you may want to click on the link at the end to learn more about limiting your posts to friends only.  When you’re done, click (again) on LIMIT PAST POSTS.

Social Media Slowdown: How to Limit the Privacy of Past Facebook Posts | Ordered and Organized

Then click (yes, again) on LIMIT PAST POSTS.

And you’re done.

One final note:  All of your Facebook statuses should now be available to your friends only unless you’ve tagged other friends in them.  Cover photo updates and some profile photo updates are still public, as are your intro and any other information you’ve chosen to make public; sadly, the privacy of those personal details will have to be changed individually.  I’ll post a blog on how to change those another day.

Blessings,
Bridget | Ordered and Organized

You are here:  Home > Social Media Slowdown > How to Limit the Privacy of Past Facebook Posts